Karen Osborne’s “The Dead, In Their Uncontrollable Power” Is a Sturgeon Award Finalist!

Fabulous news, Space Unicorns! Karen Osborne’s “The Dead, In Their Uncontrollable Power” is a Sturgeon Memorial Award finalist! And that’s not all! Uncanny Magazine Interviewer Caroline M. Yoachim’s “The Archronology of Love” from Lightspeed Magazine is also a Sturgeon Award finalist! Congratulations to Karen, Caroline, and all of the finalists!

Press release below:

LAWRENCE, KS – 10 June, 2020
for immediate release

This year’s finalists for the Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award for the best short science fiction story have been selected, announced Christopher McKitterick, Director of the Gunn Center for the Study of Science Fiction. Due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic the winner of the award will be announced online later this summer.

2020 Finalists for the Theodore A. Sturgeon Memorial Award
“The Galactic Tourist Industrial Complex,” Tobias S. Buckell. New Suns, Solaris Books, March 2019.
“Omphalos,” Ted Chiang. Exhalation, Knopf, May 2019.
“This is How You Lose the Time War,” Amal El-Mohtar and Max Gladstone. Saga Press, July 2019.
“Give the Family My Love,” A.T. Greenblatt. Clarkesworld, February 2019.
“The Dead, In Their Uncontrollable Power,” Karen Osborne. Uncanny Magazine, March 2019.
“The Painter of Trees,” Suzanne Palmer. Clarkesworld, June 2019.
“Waterlines,” Suzanne Palmer. Asimov’s, June 2019.
“Sisters of the Vast Black,” Lina Rather. Tor.com Books, October 2019.
“The Last Voyage of Skidbladnir,” Karin Tidbek. Tor.com, January 2019.
“New Atlantis,” Lavie Tidhar. Fantasy & Science Fiction, May 2019.
“The Archronology of Love,” Caroline M. Yoachim. Lightspeed Magazine, April 2019.

The Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award recognizes the best science fiction short story of each year. It was established in 1987 by James Gunn, Founding Director of the Center for the Study of Science Fiction at KU, and the heirs of Theodore Sturgeon, including his partner Jayne Engelhart Tannehill and Sturgeon’s children, as an appropriate memorial to one of the great short-story writers in a field distinguished by its short fiction.


Comments are closed.